Parish Councils are local authorities as defined in the Local Government Act 1972, section 270. They are corporate bodies, and membership is by election for four years. The number of Councillors is determined by the size of the electoral roll of the parish. Councillors are unpaid volunteers and members of the local community. The Council has the power to co-opt members of the public on to the Council, in which case they may serve until the next Council elections.

Parish Councils are also able to appoint a Clerk who is an employed member of the Council. Clerks may not take decisions binding on the Council, except where specific matters have been delegated to them either by statute or by the Council.

Beckley and Stowood Parish Council is a tier below the unitary authority of South Oxfordshire District Council. As a Parish Council it is responsible for such local matters as advising on planning applications, transport issues, street lighting, leisure areas,  other local concerns and dealing with local and national Government legislation.

Beckley and Stowood Parish Councillors are:

Name Role Phone numbers Email

David Scott


01865 351607 or 07976 268639

Michael Soanes


01865 351246  or  07822 824969

Chris Cox 

Vice Chairman

01865 351415 or 07966 276079

Vivienne Rust


01865 351746 or 07816 493876

Ginette Camps-Walsh


01865 351762 or 07768 794061

Tim Bearder

District and County Councillor

If you wish to get in touch with the Parish Council then please do so through the Parish Clerk, Sue Cox, who can be contacted on 01865 351415 or by email at

The Parish Council Minutes are available in the table on the right of this page.